A poetic response to the Spring poetry card

A revelation this morning :

Monday morning
Rushing, discussing
Hair and toothbrushing
Lunch making, breathtaking
Locating  the keys
Relieving but reeling
Just before leaving
I get the feeling
There are words
I’ve been meaning to read

Your words
Still waiting, left on the shelf
A moment or two
For the sake of my health
A tale of a goldfish
A lovelorn cat
I laughed myself silly
Even though it was sad

Now I’ve remembered the power of words
Beautiful, clever , funny, absurd
Stopped me
Literally
At the door
Calmed me and charmed me
I can’t wait to see more

Stephen Trinder

I’ve had a number of positive comments from readers about the latest Spring poetry card but this is the first time I’ve received a poetic response! Thank you Stephen T.

When I checked with Stephen to see if I could reprint his poem he replied, of course I’d be honoured, …. in between leaving the house and getting to work this morning I had to stop quite a few times to scribble ideas down (the police might have otherwise stopped me for driving and rhyming). I have a pile of different Poems in the Waiting Room at work so I was also able to spread the message when a co-worker asked me how I was feeling. Many thanks to you and the project in general. Maybe as well as in the waiting room, poetry should be prescribed in the surgeries too.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

