2015 poetry competition

Announcing the

 Poems in the Waiting Room(NZ)

2015  Poetry Competition


If you’d like to click on the Poetry Competition tab above, then select Poetry Competition 2015, you’ll be able to read through all the entry conditions or, check them out below and then……….  start writing!

Carolyn McCurdie, our 2015 judge, is a Dunedin writer. Her poems have been published widely in journals and on-line. She was the winner of the NZ Poetry Society’s International Competition 2013 and has previously won the Poems-in-Waiting-Rooms ‘Dscene’ prize in 2012. Her short fiction won the Lilian Ida Smith Award in 1998 and a collection of short stories “Albatross” was published in e-book form by Rosa Mira Books in 2014. A children’s novel, “The Unquiet” was published by Longacre Press in 2006.

Information for Entrants

The competition opens 1st November and closes on 28th February 2015.

Thanks to our sponsors

Otago University Press First Prize –  $175.

Paul Bernard from LJ H0oker Second Prize –  $150.

Poems in the Waiting Room Third prize – $125.

 UBS Dunedin unplaced Dunedin poet prize – $75.00 book voucher.

The competition is open to all New Zealand residents.  Poems must be the original work of the entrant, previously unpublished, and not submitted elsewhere. Poems must be no more than 25 lines in length.

Poems may be on any subject or theme. We’re not looking for poems about medical issues/scenarios. We’re more likely to choose poems which are upbeat, aren’t  complicated and leave the reader feeling happier about themselves and the world. Our aim, with every card, is to select poems which will take readers away from the sometimes quite stressful or anxious wait they may be experiencing.

Entries may be neatly hand-written or typed. All entries will be judged anonymously. Please don’t write your name on the entry but attach a sheet of paper detailing the title/s of the poem/s, your name, address, contact phone number and email address. Please post two copies of each poem to Poems in the Waiting Room (NZ), 19 Hunt Street, Andersons Bay, Dunedin 9013.

Entry fee:  The entry fee is $5.00 for one poem or $10.00 for up to three poems from one entrant. Payment may be made to any branch of the BNZ to the credit of Poems in the Waiting Room (NZ) a/c no. 02-0912-0102691-00, giving your name as the payer reference; or by cheque made out to ‘Poems in the Waiting Room NZ’, or in cash.

The prizewinners will be announced in April 2015 on PitWR(NZ)’s blog (waitingroompoems.wordpress.com).  All winning entries will appear in the winter edition of Poems in the Waiting Room (NZ). All entries received will be considered for publication in future seasonal editions.

Thanks to Otago University Press, Paul Bernard from LJ Hooker, and UBS Dunedin,  for their support of this competition.


This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 2015 poetry competition

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s