Not quite the last post

As we crossed the Stuart St bridge at Highgate this morning the mist was hugging the harbour and there was a definite autumnal touch to the air. So it seemed quite fitting that we combined today’s walk with the delivery of the last of the autumn poetry cards.

Back home the day was hotting up and I wasn’t in a sunscreen mood so I tucked myself away in the garden shed collecting seed heads from the bundles of summer annuals I’d pulled out a few weeks back.  A very mindless but soothing type of job.

And then Barry came around the corner with a bundle of mail, 17 competition entries and a letter telling us our line company is upping their charges. Guess which envelope I tossed aside? I then grabbed my camera to record this second to last post. Right now I’m debating whether I’ll go back to the shed and carry on with my seed heads which won’t be so soothing because the envelopes will be enticing me inwards OR should I just succumb and open them all now???

EntriesWhat a wonderful sight – a last-minute flurry!

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

