Crunchy books

Gecko

The 2014 Gecko Press catalogue and illustrations from Toucan Can!

Last night we went into town to hear Julia Marshall from Gecko Press talk at the University Bookshop. It was a small but very attentive audience of children, librarians, authors and  book lovers.

Gecko Press was established in 2005,  and its aim is to encourage children to love to read. They publish and translate children’s books by some of the world’s best writers and illustrators.  Julia said they publish ‘curiously good’ stories, books that are crunchy! I know what she means. I like a good book I can get my teeth into.

My favourite Gecko Press books

My favourite Gecko Press books

I buy children’s books for my own enjoyment now. Long gone are the nightly bed time stories with two little boys catching us out if we skipped one word of their favourite story. A favourite family story is when one of our little lads came through to the lounge from his bedroom and said to his dad, Mummy’s gone to sleep reading to me. Can I stay up now? Yes, well, it was probably the first chance I got to relax all day and sleep caught me out!

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

