Art in the Garden

Today’s plan was to spend the morning weeding in the garden and then come indoors and work on the summer Poems in the Waiting Room card. While we were lunching I remembered that Art in the Garden was on at Glenfalloch this afternoon so I threw my plans away and we headed down the Bay.

With cars parked all along the roadside we guessed that parking at Glenfalloch was full so we carried on to Macandrew Bay, parked there and enjoyed the walk back via Marine Parade and Howard Street.

Glenfalloch 13Artists at work and craft stalls in the gardens and yes, there was a ‘gnaughty gnome hunt’ for the children.

Glenfalloch 2013  4We met up with Lew Walsh who was one of the artists in our Bellamys at Five exhibition. Lew was sitting in the sun surrounded by his sketches. The Hone Tuwhare artwork is his. He also had  some of his work for sale in the Homestead exhibition.

Glenfalloch 2013 3Then we wandered on and spied Laura and Peter Gregory at their pottery stand. That’s Peter in the black hat on the right.  A lady was carving using Oamaru stone and then to my delight I met Ronnie! Last year I came across two paintings by Ronnie (both sold) at an art exhibition in Macandrew Bay. She wasn’t about, there was no card in sight, so I thought I’d just check her out on the internet when I got home. But no luck! Today I discovered Ronnie is Veronica Morgan and she lives in Macandrew Bay. I so so enjoy her artwork. Ronnie was sharing a stall with  Maureen Todd, who has the tiniest tiniest shop in Macandrew Bay. Maureen sells preloved and new children’s clothing and other bits’ n bobs. When I was at the Gallery last year we used to wave to each other as the Gallery looks out onto Maureen’s business. I was pleased to catch up with her again when I was at the Gallery this year. That’s Maureen and Barry chatting in the photo on the left.

Glenfalloch 13 2We moved on through the gardens coming across artists at work, artists’ work scattered around and the Cantores choir – you can just spy them through the trees at the top right. When we wandered up to the Homestead to see the exhibition we came across Lynn Taylor tutoring a group of ladies in longstitch bookbinding. Funny how the minute I got my camera out they all put their heads down. Lynn scuttled away but I had plenty of time so caught her in the end!

Macandrew Bay mural As we wandered back to Macandrew Bay I captured part of this terrific mural. A fitting end to a wonderful arty afternoon.

This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

