How I discovered poetry

Marilyn Nelson

Last year I contacted Marilyn Nelson regarding permission to use her poem How I discovered poetry in our winter card. And she replied: Hello, Ruth – Nice to meet you! A terrific project! I did something similar when I was poet laureate of the state: placed poetry books in waiting rooms. I’ll be pleased to be a part of your project. As is often the case the publishers hold the rights to many poems but luckily when I approached Louisiana State University Press they were agreeable to the poem appearing in PitWR, and for free!!!

So I was delighted to read today that Marilyn is the 2012 recipient of The Poetry Society of America’s highest award, the Frost Medal. This medal is presented annually for “distinguished lifetime achievement in poetry.” Previous winners of this award include Wallace Stevens, Gwendolyn Brooks, Allen Ginsberg, Marianne Moore, and Charles Simic. Read more here.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How I discovered poetry

  1. THINKING IS WRITE says:

    Nice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

